Benefits of an Injury Management Course

Jane Carn is the Workplace Health and Safety and Injury Management Manager at Valued Independent People Inc (VIP).

My background was in care.  I worked on ‘the floor’ in a 24-hour care home in England for six years.  In the last two years I was an Assistant Manager. I worked for two companies and was the Occupational Safety and Health (OSH) representative for both.  I had input into the health and safety of both places.  Most of my OSH knowledge is through on-the-floor experience so I am building up my training.

I came from England to Australia so I needed to learn all the different laws and regulations.  I completed the 2-day Occupational Health and Safety Refresher Course at Aurenda to build up my knowledge.  I also completed the Injury Management Course. A lot of knowledge that I now use in this position was covered in the course.  I am currently studying for my Certificate IV in Health and Safety.

I have worked at Valued Independent People Inc (VIP) for about 10 months. VIP is a disability sector organisation that provides support for adults with disabilities and dual diagnosis mental health issues to participate in the community. I am the workplace Health and Safety Manager which includes being the Injury Management Coordinator.  I work with the staff and our individuals making sure they are all practicing workplace health and safety and following manual handling guidelines.

On a daily basis I receive all the incident and accident forms. I investigate them all and where further actions arise from my investigations, I pass them on to the relevant people to address.  I observe the workplaces making sure people are following the policies and procedures and people are happy in their work and write and amend policies and procedures as required. I provide support to all staff and they can ask me any questions. I manage the Health and Safety Representatives in the bases (VIP has four bases) and make sure they are up to date with their health and safety knowledge. I make sure they have access to the current OSH procedures.

In my Injury Management Coordinator role, if someone gets injured at work I follow the procedures in getting them to the doctor, and that is where Aurenda come in. They are the middleman between VIP and the workers compensation insurance company. I send them all the paperwork and they deal with the insurance company. They are there on the end of the phone if I need to ask any questions.

The Injury Management Course was three days full of information. Coming from England, there was no injury management side of things when I was there. I came into a job with minimal knowledge and the course was fabulous. I have been here nearly a year and managed to get quite a few claims through. I also understand what goes on even though I have a lot more to learn.

Aurenda are also very helpful and support me. In the course we went through all the company implications, the process that a claim needs to go through, the input that we need to have with the worker. Aurenda give you a lot of strategies to work with in different cases.

Video of Jane speaking about Aurenda’s courses 

Leave a comment

Filed under Aurenda, Health and Safety Representatives, Injury Management, Injury Management Training, Manual Handling, Occupational Health and Safety, Occupational Health and Safety Training, Workplace Injury

Leave a Reply

